Orange-Strawberry Cake (or clementine)

IMG_7828

So for the past three years now I haven’t had school on the day after the Superbowl because of snow-storms, and I’m not complaining about it. They might as well just make the Monday after the Superbowl a national holiday. That’ll make everyone happier, and it seems like we’re getting the day off anyway, LOL.

At the Superbowl party I went to last night my dad bought me a box on a big chart. I was not exactly sure what it was called or how it worked, but what I did know was that if the Denver Broncos finished the game with a 4 at the end of their score and if the panthers finished the game with a 0 at the end of theirs, then I would win $500. So guess what. The panthers finished with a score of 10, and the Broncos ended with 14 more points with a score of 24. So that night when I had already left the Superbowl party and was a home with my mom and sister, I got a call from my dad telling me that I won the money. I was so shocked and happy I didn’t know what to do. What an easy way to make money! Just before the party when my dad was telling me about the boxes, I was telling him how stupid betting was because you could lose money. But I take that back now! Betting all the way! The only annoying thing is that me and my sister made a pact before the game that if either one of us won the money we would split it. So I wasn’t gonna break my promise to her now, even though I kinda wanted to. She got $250, I got $250, and my dad lost $50 that night betting that the panthers were gonna win. Wasn’t so great for my dad, but I just earned $250 by doing nothing! What luck!

So having this Monday off gave me time to experiment with ingredients in the kitchen and I came up with a delicious recipe!! I know the name is a little strange and recipes don’t usually have clementines, but trust me, I have my reasons. Don’t let the name deter you, because this recipe is just pure deliciousness. You have probably tasted or at least heard of the treat “orange-strawberry cake”, and you might be wondering why I chose clementines instead. To tell you the truth, the only reason I chose clementines was because I started making the recipe without realizing that I had no oranges. Great preparation skills, I know. So you can use oranges or clementines. The first time I made this cake with clementines and the second time I made it I used oranges. It came out tasting the exact same way. So just use what you have.

This is one of my favorite recipes so far and when you bite into it you would never think it was paleo. It is sooo delicious and i don’t feel guilty about having a piece since it’s made with mostly healthy ingredients and not a lot of added sugar. I was so excited when this cake came out of the oven perfect! Especially because I have had plenty of disappointments and failures before. But this definitely wasn’t one of them!

I could tell from the smell that was filling my house that this recipe was gonna be a winner. When my brother came down the stairs he asked me what smelled so amazing and the same thing happened with my dad when he got home from work.

This cake reminds me of a strawberry short cake with a added lemon/citrus flavor. It is so moist and satisfying that you definitely won’t feel like you’re eating something healthy. It tastes like it’s made out of wheat flour. Yeah i just said that and I am not taking it back! So try it for yourself and let your house fill with the smell of strawberries, and your taste buds get covered with awesomeness. I hope you love this recipe as much as I do!!

IMG_7825Orange/clementine-Strawberry cake/bread

Yield: 12-16 squares

Ingredients:
Wet-
-4 extra-large egg (56 grams each)
– about 2 medium oranges pureed in blender ( or 4-5 peeled clementines)(1 cup+2 tbsp pureed) (275 grams without peel)
-1/4 cup melted coconut oil (other fats/oils will probably work)
-1/4 cup of honey
-1 tsp vanilla extract
Dry-
– 90 grams of coconut flour (nutiva brand) (about 3/4- 1 cup)
-1/4 tsp salt
-1 tsp baking soda
Fold in-
-8 medium strawberries (diced) (about 160 grams)

Procedure:
1. Preheat oven to 340 degrees F
2. Mix dry ingredients together until thoroughly combined.
3. Blend wet ingredients together except for strawberries.
4. Pour the dry ingredients into the bowl with the wet ingredients and mix until smooth and no lumps are visible
5. Fold in the strawberry pieces.
6. Pour into a well greased 8×8 square pan and bake for 25 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.
7. Let cool for a few minutes before cutting. Eat and Enjoy!!

IMG_7829

Nutritional info:
Based on 1 out of 16 squares-
calories: 97
fiber:2.5 grams
carbs: 10 grams
protein:2.8 grams
Total sugar:6.25 grams
added sugar (from honey): 4 grams

 

 

Leave a Reply

